(English) Trip TO Azerbaijan – Magnific Land of Fire!(English) Trip TO Azerbaijan – Magnific Land of Fire!

By signing up, I agree to Triptoazerbaijan's Terms of Service, Privacy Policy, Guest Refund Policy, and Host Guarantee Terms

Already a member?

(English) Trip TO Azerbaijan – Magnific Land of Fire!(English) Trip TO Azerbaijan – Magnific Land of Fire!
Forgot password?

Don't have an account?

Activities in Lankaran

(English) Bobogil shrine (16th century)

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

This is the best-known shrine in the district. The tombstone located on KP 16 of the road to Lerik and KP 40 of the Lankaran-Lerik highway, has been repe­atedly looted in the past. It is connected with Nizamaddin Amir Shahsevar Gila­ni Kaskari, a prominent scientist of his time. The scientist lived at the time when the ideas of Sufism started spreading in Azerbaijan in the 11th century. There is a 15th century cemetery near the shrine. The person buried here is said to be the grandson of the 7th Imam Museyi Kazim who was from Iran’s Gilan province. Af­ter being evicted from there, he settled down and was buried here. The Bobogil place-name is explained as Baba from Gilan. The previous name of the village was Osonkaron, which meant blacksmith houses because blacksmithing was the main occupation here. There are visitors in Bobogil throughout the year. In fact, there are queues of cars stretching for kilometers. On religious holidays, espe­cially the Month of Muharram, the Day of Ashura and Eid al-Adha, people come here to sacrifice lambs. Local people say that those making a wish at the Bobogil shrine are sure to see it come true.

MORE

(English) Sigon cemetery

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

 It is located near the fortress, on the territory of the village. It is attributed to the late bronze and early iron ages. Sigon means stone. Gravestones are so big that the place is often called the cemetery of giants. The culture of gravestones has not been completely studied. Sigon is also believed to be a “place of ghosts”

MORE

(English) Fortress of girls

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

It is in the vicinity of the Yukhari Nuvadi village. During the period of the Khurramites in the 9th century, the families of statesmen, mainly women, were kept in the fortress for security reasons. According to the village elders, to feed the girls gathered in the fortress people formed a queue from the Sapnakaran village, 5 km away, and passed food for the girls through each other. Remains of clay and earthenware dishes have survived to the present day

MORE

(English) Ballabur fortress

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

Located 9 km south-west of the center, it sits in thick forests on a mountain top. The area is noted for its iron-trees. There are still traces of the brick fortress in the forest. One can reach it in half an hour. It is believed that the fortress was built by the Iranian ruler Shapur for a comman¬der named Balabur in the 6th century. It was built of brick and stone on the bank of a Lankaranchay tributary.

MORE

(English) Residency of Isa Bay (1900)

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

It is one of many multi-storey buildings established in Lankaran before the revolution. Built in the European style, it currently houses Lankaran State University. A native of Baku, Isa Bay fell in love with one of Khan’s daughters. Although he was a doctor and controlled a lot of wealth, he could not marry the girl because he did not own any property in Lankaran. Therefore, Isa Bay hired foreign specialists to build this property in the center and moved to Lankaran. Only after that was he allowed to marry. Isa Bay was the first certified doctor in Lankaran. He was persecuted in the years of Stalin repressions.

MORE

(English) Sari island

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

 After being connected with the town of Liman in 1956 by a road, it became a peninsula. Its transparent waters and dry sand make it a nice beach. Its sand is yellow, hence the name of the island. The island is also said to have been named after a Sara. In Talysh it is called Sari. The words “Sa” and “Ru” are understood as a red river or mouth of a river. Its meaning has not been fully studied.

MORE

(English) Tomb of Sheikh Zahid (15th century)

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

The shrine in the local cemetery is known as the holy place of Sheikh Zahid. The great grandfather of Shah Ismail Khatai, Sheikh Zahid is buried here. Sheikh Zahid ibn Sheikh Rovshan Amir (1215-1300) was a well-known Oriental scholar, philosopher and a sect leader in the 13th century. His father Rovshan Amir was from Iran’s Gilan province who moved to the Siyavar village of Lankaran. Sheikh Zahid was born in this village. He received primary education from a Tabriz native Seyid Jamaladdin in the Pensar village of Lankaran. Zahid means an abstinent and pious person. After the death of his teacher Jamaladdin, Sheikh Zahid lived for 20 years and was engaged in farming. He was also a sect leader, which is why the village is called Shikhakaran (Sheikh’s houses).

MORE

(English) Lighthouse (1747)

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

The circular tower’s twin was one of the town main pillars. Located in the town’s north-east, the second fortress is known as the lighthouse. It is said to have been at the bottom of the sea fortress. Although it is a military facility, it is located on private property and protected. Access to both fortresses is said to have been through underground tunnels. Its coverage is over 16 miles. The lighthouse is 33.4 m high together with the beacon, while its walls are 2 m thick. The first modern school after Russian occupation was opened here in 1856. One of the country’s first theaters was established here in 1850 as well. Although Khanates were abolished, the Czar left the titles of Talysh Khans intact. In 1906-1910, Khan invited well-known composer Muslim Magomayev to teach music to his children and set up a chorus. Lankaran is also known for its strong religious traditions. In fact, the head of the Caucasus Muslims’ clerical office comes from Lankaran, which is treated quite naturally. There are many mosques, tombs and shrines in Lankaran, and the best known of them is in the Shikhakaran village.

MORE

(English) Gizilaghaj natural park

عفوا، هذه المدخلة موجودة فقط في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

Although a group of Russian scientist suggested establishing a natural park here in 1913, the plans were upset due to the start of World War I. It was set up in the south-west of the Caspian on an area of 88,400 hectares in 1929. It was established for the wintering, reproduction and protection of migrant birds, waterfowl and wild bird species. Most of the birds included on the Azerbaijan Red Book are protected in the natural park. The park is of tremendous importance for the reproduction of migrant birds. Birds from Siberia, Kazakhstan, south of the Urals, north of Europe fly here in great numbers for wintering. There are 270 bird species here. Thus, birds are an important component of the local cuisine. The place is also referred to as the “House of birds”. The hunting season starts in autumn and winter. A total of 73 per cent of the natural park is made up of water. Motorboats can quickly take one to the Big Gizilaghaj and Small Gizilaghaj. Gizilaghaj is the name of a plant. This broad-leaved plant grows in forests and near water sources. The name of the place comes from the abundance of the plant.

MORE