A small fragment of the fortress – the fortress wall – is located in the city centre near the Khan Garden. The intact wall of the fortress is the remains of the Shiralibay Tower. In the 16th century, the Ganja region was a battle field for Ottoman-Safavid wars. At that time, it was necessary to build a strong fortress. Ganja Fortress, which was known as “a shield that all Asians relied on”, was built by the commander of Turkish troops in the Caucasus, Ferhat Pasha, on orders from Ottoman Sultan Murat III. The total length of the wall was 3.6 km and height – 8.5-9.5 meters. In 1868, Ganja became a regional centre. According to the new general plan drawn up by the regional architect, Ignatiy Ivanovich Krzyntalowicz, and approved by Emperor Alexander II, the historical centre of the city underwent drastic changes. The fortress was destroyed and a European-style quarter was established.